Staff Reporter

KOCHI: Noted writer Perumbadavam Sreedharan has won this year's Malayattoor Award for his novel, Narayanam. The award carries a purse of Rs.15, 000, citation and plaque.

Ambikasuthan Mangad won the Malayattoor prize for his debut novel, Marakappile Theyyangal. The prize consists of Rs.2, 001 and citation.

The award committee comprised writer Zachariah, journalist P. Sreedharan and critic M.K. Harikumar. The awards will be distributed in Thiruvananthapuram in August second week, V.K. Jayakumar, Chairman, Malayattoor Smaraka Samithi, said here on Tuesday.