Staff Reporter

Vilayil Faseela gets Vaidyar award

KOZHIKODE: Vilayil Faseela has been selected for the Mahakavi Moyinkutty Vaidyar Award instituted by the All Kerala Mappila Sangeetha Academy.

The M.S. Baburaj Award is shared by Muhammed Pyari, musician, and Muhammed Shakeel, ghazal singer and Kozhikode Medical College doctor. Kalamandalam Rama was selected for the Monisha Award, said Academy president N.K. Muhammedali and secretary N. Basheer at a press conference here on Saturday.

The awards carry a purse of Rs.3,001, a statuette and a citation.

They were judged by a committee comprising writer U.A. Khader, AIR artiste K.M.K. Vellayil and Kalamandalam Chandrika.

Previous recipients of the awards include Kaithapram Damodaran Namboodiri, Kalamandalam Saraswathi, V.M. Kutty and Mr. Vellayil.

The awards will be distributed at a function to mark the 14th anniversary of the Academy at the Town Hall here on Thursday. Forest Minister Benoy Viswom will inaugurate the function. The former Minister M.K. Muneer will give away the Mahakavi Moyinkutty Vaidyar Award. A. Pradeepkumar, MLA, will give away the M.S. Baburaj Award, while P.M.A. Salam, MLA, will give away the Monisha Award.

District Collector A. Jayatilak will distribute prizes to the winners of `Malabar Kalamela 2006.' Cultural programmes will also be staged.