Staff Reporter

Actors Prithviraj and Kavya Madhavan bag awards for best acting

Instituted by the Sathyan memorial club

Sheela TV awards, instituted last year, also announced

KOLLAM: Actors Prithviraj and Kavya Madhavan have bagged this year’s Sathyan Memorial Award for best acting in the films category. The awards have been instituted by the Sathyan Memorial Arts and Sports Club.

The other award-winners in the films category are Siddique, best anti-hero; KPAC Lalitha, best supporting actor (female); Narain, best supporting actor (male); Bindu Panikar, best comedy role; Vinu Mohan and Bhama, best newcomers; Madhu Balakrishnan, best playback singer(male); Manjari, best playback singer (female); and film director Anil, special award.

The awards were announced at a press conference here on Monday by J.T. Hari, club chairman; A. Sharafuddin, president; S. Radhakrishnan, secretary; and Kalpana, awards jury member and film actor.

Besides Ms. Kalpana, the jury comprised Sheela and Jayaram, actors; K. Raveendranathan Nair, film producer; C.V. Anandabose, civil servant ; and Mr. Hari.

Mr. Jayaram and family were selected as the best star family of the year.

For the Sheela TV awards, instituted last year, Diana Sylvester has been selected as the best director, Shajin as the best male actor and Suchithra and Srikala Sasidharan as the best female actors.

The awards will be presented at a function at the club complex at 6 p.m. on January 27. Home Minister Kodiyeri Balakrishnan will inaugurate the function. The film awards will be distributed by ministers N.K. Premachandran, M.A. Baby and P.K. Gurudasan. The TV awards will be given away by Sheela, actor.