Staff Reporter

THIRUVANANTHAPURAM: Literary critic M. Leelavathy has been selected for the prestigious Vayalar Rama Varma Award for this year.

Addressing a press conference here on Wednesday, office-bearers of the Vayalar Rama Varma Memorial Trust said Prof. Leelavathy was selected for the award for her work ‘Appuvinte Anweshanam’ which is a critique of the nine novels of Malayalam writer C. Radhakrishnan.

The award, instituted in memory of poet-lyricist Vayalar Rama Varma, carries a purse of Rs.25,000, a sculpture made by Kanayi Kunhiraman and a citation. Prof. Leelavathy is the 31st winner of the award. The Trust chairman M.K. Sanoo, secretary C.V. Thrivikraman, members O.N.V. Kurup, N. Ramachandran, K. Jayakumar and Vayalar Saratchandra Varma and the judging committee members P.V. Krishnan Nair, D. Benjamin and Sebastian Antony were present at the press conference.

Dr. Krishnan Nair said the judging committee was unanimous in selecting Prof. Leelavathy for the award. Describing her as a “great literary critic and a great teacher,” he said she had been a keen observer of finer and wider dimensions of Malayalam poetry right from her early days.

Prof. Leelavathy had won several laurels including the awards of the Central and State Sahithya Akademies.

The award would be presented to Prof. Leelavathy at a function to be held here on October 27, the death anniversary day of Vayalar Rama Varma.