Staff Reporter

THALASSERY: District and Sessions Court here on Thursday convicted six Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh-Bharatiya Janata Party (RSS-BJP) workers in the case relating to the attempted murder of Communist Party of India(Marxist) leader P. Jayarajan, who is now an MLA.

Principal Sessions judge P. Satheenath found six of the nine accused in the case guilty and posted the pronouncement of punishment for Friday.

Three acquitted

He acquitted three accused in the case giving benefit of doubt. The RSS-BJP workers who were convicted by the judge are: Kadicheri Aji, Chirukandoth Prashanth, Koyon Manu alias Manoj, K.P. Sasi alias Para Sasi, Ilanthodath Manoj, and JP alias Jayaprakash.

The acquitted are Kuniyil Sanoop, Thykandy Mohanan and Poyyeri Pramod.

Mr. Jayarajan had been attacked on the Thiruonam day on August 29, 1999 inside his house at East Kathirur.

He had suffered over a dozen stab injuries in the attack.

The pronouncement of judgment in the case was postponed several times after two of the accused pleaded for shifting of the case from the Fast Track Court here, which had completed the trial in the case.

The case was then transferred to the District Sessions Court following direction from the High Court.