Special Correspondent

Youth Congress takes out march to Chief Minister’s residence

Thiruvananthapuram: Deputy Leader of the Opposition G.Karthikeyan has charged the Government with betraying the Opposition which extended support beyond politics for the Munnar evictions and the cultural leaders by deciding not to dismantle its “five star” party offices constructed on encroached land.

Inaugurating a march taken out to Chief Minister V.S. Achuthanandan’s official residence by the Youth Congress to highlight what it described as the Government’s failure to deliver the goods, he said that the Government was a total failure.

The help of the armed forces had to be sought to check the spread of the killer fever. The SFI and the DYFI were being allowed to go on a rampage to cover its failure in the educational sector. Such action was destroying the peaceful atmosphere prevailing in the State.

Education Minister M.A. Baby who started off issuing threats to the self-financing managements was standing like a beggar before them. He wondered whether the violent agitations being organised by the SFI and the DYFI were part of a conspiracy to create an atmosphere of uncertainty in the field of higher education and force the students to seek the help of the education lobby in other States.

He contended that the only solution was the acceptance of the 50:50 principle formulated by the UDF in the case of self-financing colleges. He lauded the Youth Congress for the peaceful manner in which it was agitating.

Youth Congress president T.Siddique, who presided, said that the Government was implementing two types of laws in Munnar - one for the private resorts and another for the five star resorts attached to the party offices of the CPI(M) and the CPI.

DCC president V.S. Sivakumar said that the action taken against the IHRD Director in the issue involving the Chief Minister’s son was another instance of the implementation of two types of laws.

The march which started from the Martyrs Column was led by M.Munir, Simon Alex, K.P. Sreekumar and Niji Justic, vice-presidents, and R.V.Rajesh, Jaidali, Jallel Mohammed, John Vinitius, Mathew kuzhalnadan, R.S.Arunraj, M.Liju, Rinku Cheriyan and J.G.Palakalodi, general secretaries, among others.