Staff Reporter

1,000 students from 50 colleges take part in events

KOZHIKODE: `Nokia Ragam 07' got off to a start with Malayalam `antakshari' at the National Institute of Technology, Calicut (NIT-C), campus near here on Thursday. A total of 13 teams participate in this event conducted by Baiju Raj at the Aryabhatta Hall. A total of six teams that made it to the final entertained the audience with their singing skills and knowledge of film songs, both old and new.

Students of the Federal Institute of Science and Technology (FISAT), Angamaly, won the first prize in the event.

The next event of the day was Hindi debate in which participants poured out their views on the relevance of politics on college campuses. `Extempore' (Malayalam) was the next event in which the oratory skills of the participants and quick thinking were assessed.

A major attraction was the pencil-sketching event, in which over 75 participants put on paper their perception about the theme `Thirst'. One of the major events of the day was the western orchestra in which bands from over 10 colleges made the crowd dance to their beats. In contrast, the light music (solo) event had a soothing effect on the audience. Dumb charades, a usual event was also a crowd puller.

Events like vegetable carving, painting and collage brought out the intuitive artistic talent of the contestants. The last and the most important event was the group dance in which around 14 teams showcased their dancing finesse and synchronized moves which enthralled the packed open air theatre.

It was a fitting finale for a colourful day that involved over 50 colleges with around 1,000 participants.

Results: Antakshari (Malayalam): 1. Deepak Yatheendradas & Vishnudev K.S. (FISAT), 2. Sangeeta P.S. and Shyni K. (AWH Engineering College), 3. N. Vineet & Sandeep K (CUSAT) Dumb Charades: 1. Nithin Philip Kuruvilla, Shanker M. and N.A. Bharat (NIT-C), 2. Amit Ambre, Nishant, Dhruv (NIT-C) 3.Manju Madhavan, Roshini Kumar, Haneena Mohamed (GEC Thrissur)

Hindi debate: 1.Ashish Sharma and Pankaj Kumar (NIT-C), 2. Divya Gopinath and Eric Eldo (College of Engineering, Trivandrum), 3. Prashant Kumar and Ashish Nair (AWH Engineering College)

Extempore Malayalam: 1. Joji K N (St. Joseph's College Devagiri); 2. Elna Merin (NIT-C).