Special Correspondent

THIRUVANANTHAPURAM: Sajith Parameswaran of Mangalam has won the State Media Award 2006 for general reporting for his stories on controversies surrounding the implementation of Kerala State Transport Project.

M. Jayachandran of Deepika won the award for developmental reporting. His report dealt with mineral resources of Kerala and their potential. In the news photography section, Jayadeep Chandran, Rashtradeepika, got the award.K.R. Gopikrishnan, Mathrubhoomi, won the award for cartoonists.

Priji Joseph of Manorama Vision bagged the award for television new story. In the television camera section, Madhu Menon of Asianet won the award.

Announcing the awards here on Tuesday, Chief Minister V. S. Achuthanandan and Kerala Press Academy Chairman Thomas Jacob said that the awards carried Rs.10,000, a citation and plaque.