Special Correspondent

KOCHI: The film awards instituted by Bharat Broadcasting Network Limited which telecasts Jaihind TV, will be given away at a function to be held at the Marine Drive grounds on August 17. The broadcasting network is celebrating its first anniversary on that day.

The award for the best picture goes to ‘Paradesi’ and the best Director is Shyamaprasad. Mohanlal and Lakshmi Gopalaswami have been adjudged as best actors. K.S.Chitra and Vineet Srinivasan are the best singers. M.Jayachandran is the best music director. The channel is organising mass run in all the districts, aimed at spreading the message of national integration.