Staff Reporter

Host of dignitaries to attend; 1,000 delegates register for the conference

Former Supreme Court judge Fathima Beevi

to be honoured

Seminars on law, gender issues to be conducted

KOCHI: President Pratibha Devisingh Patil will inaugurate the two-day national conference of the All India Federation of Women Lawyers (AIFWL) here at the Le Meridien International Convention Centre on December 28 at 10.30 a.m.

V.P. Seemandini, president, AIFWL, will preside.

Supreme Court Chief Justice K.G. Balakrishnan, Kerala High Court Chief Justice S.R. Bannurmath, Governor R.S. Gavai, Chief Minister V.S. Achuthanandan and the Union Minister for Law and Justice M. Veerappa Moily will offer felicitations. A souvenir will be released on the occasion.

Mr. Justice Balakrishnan will present the Sthree Vakil Puraskar, instituted to honour outstanding women lawyers, to M. Fathima Beevi, the first woman Judge of the Supreme Court; and Saraswati Devi, senior advocate in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, and former president of the Federation of International De Abogodas (FIDA).

Stella Ogbuma, president, FIDA, will be present on the occasion.

Addressing a press conference here on Wednesday, office bearers of AIFWL said that more than 1,000 delegates had already registered for the conference.

The inaugural session will be followed by a seminar on ‘Cyber crimes relating to women and children’ at 2 p.m.

Resource persons

Vijay Menon, trainer, Lal Bahadur Shastri National Academy of Administration, Mussoorie; Rodney Ryder, Supreme Court lawyer; Lina Acca Mathew, lecturer, Government Law College, Thrissur; and Jacob Punnose, Director General of Police; will be the resource persons for the subject.

Preeti Singh, Bombay High Court lawyer, will be the moderator.

On the second day a seminar on ‘Gender Justice with Special Reference to the Protection of Women Against Sexual Harassment at Work Place Bill, 2007,’ will be held at the IMA Hall near the Jawaharlal Nehru International Stadium at 9.30 a.m.

A.R. Laxmanan, former Supreme Court Judge, will deliver a special address. Giovanna Chiara, senior lawyer from Italy; V.B. Cotinho, Executive Director, Garden City College of Law, Bangalore; and Gangotri Chakraborty, Head of the Department of Law, North Bengal University; will the resource persons.

Amee Yajnik, Central Government Counsel, Gujarat High Court, will be the moderator. The final seminar session on ‘matrimonial property/community property’ will be held at 2 p.m.

Special address

Justice Prabha Sridevan, Madras High Court Judge, will deliver the special address.

Kirti Singh, Supreme Court lawyer; Nagabhooshanam, former vice-chancellor of the Dr. Ambedkar University, Tamil Nadu; Vaijayanti Girish Joshi, Principal, ILS Law College, Pune; and Mittu Manoj Gopalan, partner, Milne Berry Berger Freedman, Solicitors, Sydney, Australia; will speak on the topic.

Sally Thomas Chacko, Kerala High Court lawyer, will be the moderator.

Valedictory function

The valedictory function will be held at the IMA Hall at 5.30 p.m.

K.K. Usha, former Chief Justice of Kerala, and chairperson of the conference, will preside.

Supreme Court Judges Justice Cyriac Joseph and Justice K.S. Radhakrishnan; Minister for Law M. Vijayakumar; Ms. Ogbuma; Girija Vyas, Chairperson, National Commission for Women; and C.P. Sudhakara Prasad, Advocate General of Kerala, will speak.