Thiruvananthapuram: The results of the by-elections held in 37 local body wards have come as a shot in the arm for the UDF. It managed to win 21 seats, leaving only 14 to the LDF. The remaining two seats went to the BJP. Nine of the seats won by the UDF were wrested from the LDF. The LDF wrested three seats from the UDF. KPCC general secretary K. Sudhakaran described the outcome of the by-elections a shining victory for the UDF. — Special Correspondent