Staff Reporter

Kozhikode: The short-film ‘Scavenger’ directed by Gopi Kuttikkol bagged the Amateur Little Cinema (ALA) award for the best film in the 30-minute category of the ALA Short-film Festival that ended here the other day.

‘Mangandi,’ directed by Ratheesh is the second best movie of the festival in the same category.

Sherry, director of ‘The Last Leaf,’ was named the best director, while Ratheesh, who wrote the screenplay for ‘Mangandi,’ secured the award for the best script. The award for the best cinematography was bagged by Christy George for his work in ‘The Last Leaf.’ Sreejith Kulavayal and Deepa Das won the best actor and best actress awards for their performances in ‘Scavenger’ and ‘The Last Leaf’ respectively.

The ALA special jury awards went to Arun Viswanath and Akhil Viswanath for their performance in ‘Mangandi.’

Five-minute category

‘The Bonsai,’ directed by Kiran Keshav, was named the best movie in the five-minute category while ‘Happy Birthday’ directed by Ajith Velayudhan and ‘After’ directed by Dita Mathew shared the special jury award in the same category.

‘Agraharangalude Vilapam’ directed by M. Venukumar won the award for the best documentary and ‘Sumanahally’ directed by Rajesh Bahaskarn won the award for the second-best documentary.

‘Kainaattikal’ directed by Jomon T. John for the Karnataka State Government Film and Television Institute won the award for the best campus film.

‘Jalam Kondu Murivettaval’ directed by R.S. Vimal of Jai Hind TV won the award for the best documentary film in the TV channel segment.

Music album

Sajeesh Rajendran’s ‘Thaniye’ was adjudged the best music album while the award for the best animation film was secured by ‘Combat’ directed by K.R. Ratheesh.

The awards, comprising a purse, ALA statuette and a citation, will be presented to the winners at a public function in Kozhikode in January, 2009.