Staff Reporter

2,52,6111 voters in the district

THIRUVANANTHAPURAM: As many as 21,52,611 voters in 14 Assembly constituencies will go to the polls in the district on Saturday. All arrangements have been made for the smooth conduct of the elections, District Collector N. Ayyappan has said.

Women voters (11,37,282) outnumber men (1008576). There are 6,753 service voters in the district. As many as 2,101 booths have been set up.

The following is the constituency wise break up of the booths: Varkala -143, Attingal -134, Kilimanoor - 156, Vamanapuram - 157, Aryanad - 122, Nedumangad - 164, Kazhakoottam - 170, Thiruvananthapuram North - 172, West - 127, East - 125, Nemom - 162, Kovalam - 164, Neyyatinkara - 159 and Parassala - 146.

In addition, the district administration has also set up 24 auxiliary booths. Those booths with more than 1,450 voters were split to form auxiliary booths. As many as 8,500 officials have been deployed on polling duty and 1,500 others have been maintained as reserve staff.

Those who have got voter identity cards should produce them at the polling booths at the time of voting. Those who have not got the cards can produce PAN card, or identity cards issued by the Central and State Government departments and also public sector undertakings.

Political parties should provide badge or identity cards to their activists. Photography and videography have been banned inside polling booths. Mobile phones, cordless phones and wireless sets also will not be permitted within 100-metre radius of the booths.

The distribution of polling materials will begin at 8 a.m. on Saturday. Mr. Ayyappan has asked the polling officials to collect the materials from the distribution centres at the appointed time. Action would be taken against those officials who fail to turn up on time. Directions have been given to arrest and produce those officials who refuse to join duty, he said.