Arguments on quantum of punishment to be held from Thursday

The Special Additional Sessions Court (Marad cases) at Eranhipalam here on Wednesday convicted 12 accused, including three leaders of the Communist Party of India (Marxist), in connection with the murder of Revolutionary Marxist Party (RMP) leader T.P. Chandrasekharan at Onchiyam on May 4, 2012.

Pronouncing the verdict, Judge R. Narayana Pisharadi found M.C. Anoop, Manoj Kumar, N.K. Sunil Kumar, T.K. Rajeesh, K.K. Mohammed Shafi, Annan Shijith, K. Shinoj, K.C. Ramachandran, member of the Kunnummakkara local committee Manojan, former branch secretary of Kadanganpoyil of the CPI(M) P.K. Kunhanandan, member of the Panur area committee of the CPI(M) P.V. Rafeeque, and M.K. Pradeepan guilty of the crime.

The arguments on the quantum of punishment will be held from Thursday.

However, the court acquitted 24 persons, including P. Mohanan, district secretariat member of the CPI(M).

The court observed that no legally admissible evidence was found to support the allegation of the prosecution against the accused.

The prosecution case was that a section of CPI(M) leaders in Kozhikode and Kannur districts allegedly hatched a conspiracy and hired a seven-member gang to kill Chandrasekharan, who had walked out of the party and floated a dissident outfit at Onchiyam.

Court sources said the judgment, running into over 350 pages, indicated that it was a politically motivated murder.

K.K. Rema, wife of the slain RMP leader, said she was not fully satisfied with the verdict. But the verdict had exposed the role of the CPI(M) in Kozhikode and Kannur districts hatching a plot to kill Chandrasekharan.

CPI(M) leader

P. Mohanan among

24 acquitted