Staff Correspondent

April 10 set as deadline for distribution of ration cards

DAVANGERE: The youth leaders of the Congress in Davangere have set April 10 as deadline for the district administration to distribute Below Poverty Line (BPL) cards and other ration cards to poor people.

They threatened to lay siege to both the Deputy Commissioner and Food and Civil supplies office here if the district administration failed to distribute ration cards to beneficiaries by April 10.

A large number of youth Congress workers led by D. Basavaraj, general secretary of district unit of the Congress, staged a dharna in front of the Deputy Commissioner's office here on Wednesday demanding the district administration to distribute the cards immediately.

The youth leaders in a memorandum stated that the district administration had failed to distribute cards despite repeated pleas made earlier. They said that when S.S. Mallikarjun was the district in-charge Minister in the previous Government, BPL cards were distributed to over 58,000 poor people. Similarly other poor people were given different cards, they said and questioned the motive for withdrawing cards from the beneficiaries by the present coalition Government.

Veteran Congress leader Jambagi Sharanappa, Abdul Jabbar, former president of the district Congress, Dinesh K. Shetty, K.G. Shivakumar, S. Mallikarjun, K.R. Dyamappa and T.D. Halesh participated in the dharna.