Special Correspondent

Bangalore: Minister for Women and Child Welfare H.K. Kumaraswamy on Friday announced the International Women's Day awards. The awards will be presented on March 8, International Women's Day, at a public function in Bangalore.

The Stree Shakti groups chosen for the Yashodamma Dasappa Award are Vidya Stree Shakti Group, Shikaripur, Shimoga district; Mookambika Stree Shakti Group, Madikeri; Jayamata Stree Shakti Group, Dharwad; and Gayathri Stree Shakti Group, Surpur, Gulbarga district. The award comes with a purse of Rs. 25,000 each

Three other Stree Shakti groups have also been chosen for awards.