Shankar Bennur

They outnumber men in Narasimharaja, Krishnaraja, T. Narsipur

Various strategies to woo women voters

Candidates are making tall promises

MYSORE: Although women have been neglected by the mainstream political parties in ticket distribution in Mysore district, they hold the key to the political fate of candidates in at least three constituencies. Women out- number men in these constituencies, Narasimharaja, Krishnaraja and T. Narsipur (reserved). The number of voters in the district is 20,54,361. Of this, 10,37,628 are men and 10,16,733 women.

However, in Narasimharaja, there are 1,00,719 women and 99,088 men voters, Krishnaraja 10,14,33 women and 1,00,384 men and T. Narsipur has 86,334 women and 86,299 men voters.

After the redrawing of the constituencies, the number of women voters has gone up in the three constituencies. And, candidates in these constituencies are using various strategies to woo women voters. Even before the election notification was issued, a mega show of women self-help groups (SHGs) was organised in Krishnaraja constituency. A large number of women from various SHGs and Stree Shakti Sanghas in the constituency reportedly attended the show.

Although, on the face of it, there was nothing to show that it was organised with political gains in view, it raised doubts in the minds of the public on why it was organised ahead of the elections. Was it intended to please the women voters? With polling less than two weeks away, the candidates are making tall promises of coming out with women-oriented schemes.

Importantly, the number of women voters has crossed the one-lakh mark in Chamundeshwari, Krishnaraja, Chamaraja and Narasimharaja constituencies. The lowest number of women voters are in Periyapatna — 72,236.

Sarvodaya Karnataka Party, a regional outfit, has fielded Jaji Thimmaiah in Heggadadevankote (reserved) constituency.

The Bahujan Samaj Party candidate from Hanur, Parimala Nagappa, who was with the Janata Dal (S), was forced to quit that party owing to the “changed election scenario.”

It is being said that Ms. Nagappa’s move could be attributed to the inclusion of certain Dalit-dominated pockets in Hanur segment from the adjoining Kollegal constituency during the delimitation exercise as well as the perceived disenchantment among sections of Lingayats with the Janata Dal (Secular) over the issue of transfer of power.

The BJP has fielded two candidates in Mandya district — Puja Santosh from Srirangapatna and Vidya Nagendra from Mandya constituencies.