Has the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party in the Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike (BBMP) discriminated against the wards represented by Opposition parties while allocating funds in the 2011-2012 budget?

Providing statistics, Leader of Opposition M. Udayshankar, who spoke on the budget at the council on Tuesday, revealed that several wards represented by the Congress and Janata Dal (Secular) had not been allocated ward grants at all.

He said while Rs. 162 crore had been set aside as ward grants for 112 wards represented by the BJP, only 21 of the 67 wards represented by the Congress councillors would receive Rs. 71 crore.

Mr. Udayshankar pointed out that eight of the 14 wards represented by the Janata Dal (Secular) would receive Rs. 21 crore and three wards represented by independent councillors would receive Rs. 4 crore.

Seeking allocation of ward grants to all the 198 wards in the BBMP, he said: “Citizens living in other wards are also taxpayers whose interests have to be considered.”

“Even in allocation of grants to Assembly constituencies, the Opposition parties have been discriminated against,” he said and questioned the sanctity of the grants given to MLAs for the constituencies. Mr. Udayshankar sought to know the provisions of the Karnataka Municipal Corporation (KMC) Act under which Rs. 135 crore has been allocated to 28 Assembly constituencies.

Several Assembly constituencies represented by Congress legislators had been ignored while allocating funds, he said and added that constituencies represented by BJP legislators such as Jayanagar (Rs. 26.25 crore), Padmanabhanagar (Rs. 45 crore), Malleswaram (Rs. 29 crore), Bommanahalli and K.R. Puram (Rs. 20 crore each), Rajarajeshwarinagar, Yelahanka and Basavangudi (Rs. 10 crore each) had received huge grants.

Incidentally, Padmanabhanagar is represented by city in-charge Minister R. Ashok.