A.V. Umapathi, former MLA, has once again changed his party, and will now contest from the Chitradurga Assembly constituency on the Karnataka Janata Paksha (KJP) ticket. He joined the KJP on Tuesday after resigning from the BSR Congress.

Though the KJP had already declared former City Municipal Council president Sunita Mallikarjun as its candidate for Chitradurga, Mr. Umapathi has convinced both Ms. Mallikarjun and KJP State president B.S. Yeddyurappa to give him the ticket. He was declared the KJP’s candidate for Chitradurga on Tuesday evening.

His career began in 1989. He secured the Holalkere Assembly seat as a Congress candidate, and was later re-elected from the same constituency in the 2004 Assembly elections. After the delimitation of constituencies in 2008 reserved Holalkere for a Scheduled Caste candidate, Mr. Umapathi was forced to contest from Hiriyur in the 2008 elections. He was denied the ticket, and contested as a Congress rebel instead. Mr. Umapathi lost, securing only 1,844 votes in the elections. He rejoined the Congress, but did not stay very long in the party.

Later, he joined the Janata Dal (Secular) after several meetings with his supporters and well-wishers; however, his relationship with the JD(S) lasted only for a few months, before he joined the BSR Congress. When he was denied the ticket, he turned to the KJP.