In a quest to be the first to break the news, a few TV channels announced that JD(S) candidate M.C. Sundareshan had been declared elected from T. Narsipur. The confusion arose because his agents rushed out in jubilation after finding out that Mr. Sundareshan had established a considerable lead in the final round of counting.

However, even as celebrations were in full swing, the Returning Officer declared H.C. Mahadevappa of the Congress the winner by a slender margin of 323 votes. A stunned Mr. Sundareshan arrived at the counting centre for a clarification and re-totalling confirmed the results.

Transgender candidates

Chandni, the transgender candidate who contested from Narasimharaja in Mysore, secured 419 votes. In Gandhinagar constituency in Bangalore Urban, Soumya, another transgender candidate, who contested on a BSP ticket, polled 441 votes.