Tippareddy, Manjunath submit nominations

print   ·   T  T  
Starting work: Congress candidate G.H. Tippareddy submitting his nomination papers in Chitradurga on Monday.
Starting work: Congress candidate G.H. Tippareddy submitting his nomination papers in Chitradurga on Monday.

Staff Correspondent

Chitradurga: Two prominent leaders of the district, G.H. Tippareddy of the Congress and G.S. Manjunath of the Bharatiya Janata Party, filed their nomination papers for the Chitradurga city Assembly constituency here on Monday.

Mr. Tippareddy arrived at the tahsildar’s office with several supporters, but only five persons were allowed to accompany him inside owing to restrictions in place by the Election Commission.

While Mr. Manjunath is contesting the Assembly elections for the second time, Mr. Tippareddy is seeking to be elected for the fourth consecutive term. Mr. Manjunath contested the last Assembly elections from Holalkere constituency with outside support from the Janata Dal (Secular), but lost to A.V. Umapati of the Congress. He later joined the JD(S) and is now with the BJP.

Mr. Tippareddy won the first two elections as an independent candidate, but later joined the Congress. In the last election, he won a close contest with Janata Dal (Secular) candidate S.K. Basavarajan by a narrow margin.

For various reasons, this time too, the path seems not so easy for Mr. Tippareddy. After the delimitation exercise, Imangala village, which had traditionally supported his candidature, has now been merged with Hiriyur constituency. The rising popularity of Mr. Basavarajan, who is the only aspirant from the JD(S), might affect Mr. Tippareddy’s chances of an easy win.

However, he is confident of winning the coming elections. Mr. Basavarajan is expected to file his nomination papers on Tuesday.

The other two candidates who have already filed their papers from Chitradurga constituency are Sridevi Krishnamurthy of the Swarna Yuga Party and S.B. Raghu, an independent.

The Hindu presents the all-new Young World



Recent Article in KARNATAKA

II PU supplementary results announced

The results of the second year pre-university (PU) supplementary examinations were announced on Thursday, posting the second best pass pe... »