Chikmagalur: Deputy Commissioner R. Narayanaswamy said here on Monday that the district administration has taken steps to ensure peaceful polling in the four taluks of the district that have been included in the Udupi-Chikmagalur Lok Sabha constituency.

Speaking to presspersons, Mr. Narayanaswamy said that filing of nomination papers and counting of votes will be done in Udupi as the Deputy Commissioner of Udupi district has been appointed as the returning officer. He said Chikmagalur, Mudigere, Sringeri and Tarikere taluks have been included in this constituency and Kadur taluk has been included in the Hassan Lok Sabha constituency.

Stating that a-round-the-clock helpline will be made available for voters in the district, he said voters can call the number to report violations of model code of conduct or other irregularities.

Giving details of the voters in the four taluks in Udupi-Chikmagalur constituency, he said there were 3,07,722 men and 3,01,177 women voters. Out of the 881 booths in this area, 58 booths have less than 300 voters, he added. He said that as many 146 polling stations, including 45 stations in the Naxal-affected areas of the district have been identified as very sensitive. In addition to this, 350 stations have been identified as sensitive.

He said security will be enhanced in the Naxal-affected areas of the district and steps will be taken ensure that voters living in hamlets in these areas are allowed to cast their votes without fear.