Special Correspondent

‘It is for the BJP to take action against the Minister’

Bangalore: N. Suryanarayana Reddy, political secretary to the Chief Minister, has said that it was “unbecoming” on the part of Minister for Tourism B. Sriramulu to have threatened a forest official of the Bellary region with dire consequences recently.

Both Mr. Suryanarayana Reddy and Mr. Sriramulu hail from Bellary district. With reference to a complaint made against the Tourism Minister by Rajashekaran, Divisional Forest Officer, Mr. Suryanarayana Reddy told presspersons here on Wednesday, “it is for the BJP to take action against the Minister concerned and that Chief Minister H.D. Kumaraswamy had conveyed his opinion to the BJP in this connection.”

Mr. Reddy said, “it is a well-known fact that illegal iron ore mining has been going on all along the Karnataka-Andhra Pradesh border in Bellary district. The people who made ‘reckless complaints’ of bribery against the Chief Minister ‘are the very same people connected with illegal mining along the border. These people have obtained mining permission from the Government of Andhra Pradesh and are carrying out mining operations in Karnataka. They are looting our precious property. And when the official went to investigate complaints he was heckled and threatened.”

Mr. Reddy said it was unbecoming on the part of political leaders, irrespective of the political party to which they belonged to, to threaten officials who were merely doing their work. Mr. Reddy announced the appointment of chairmen to important boards and corporations, which have been allocated to the Janata Dal (S). The appointments were dated September 3, well ahead of the model code of conduct which has come into force following the announcement of the municipal elections across the State.

S.R. Mahesh has been appointed chairman of the Mysore Urban Development Authority; Basavaraj M. Tadkal, chairman of the Gulbarga Urban Development Authority; Nagangouda Kandkur, chairman of the Hyderabad-Karnataka Development Board; M. Angarki, chairman of the State Temperance Board; A. Thimmappa, chairman of the Tungabhadra Command Area Development Authority; M. Bhaktavatsalam, chairman of the Kolar Gold Fields Urban Development Authority; and M. Ravindra Babu, chairman of the Bellary Urban Development Authority. The new chairmen and members appointed were all party functionaries of the Janata Dal (S).