Single ticketing system for BMTC's feeder service

Anil Kumar Sastry
print   ·   T  T  

The service has been proposed on 21 routes on the outskirts

The Bangalore Metropolitan Transport Corporation (BMTC) will introduce single ticketing system in its proposed feeder services on 21 routes on the outskirts of the city for passengers to reach places in other parts of the city.

The fare will be from the starting point to the destination irrespective of whether they get down from the feeder service and hop on to another bus to the destination. While there has been a demand for a flat fare, of about Rs. 5 on these services, the corporation has said such a move was not feasible.

Electronic ticketing machines will have to be introduced to make single ticketing system possible, as the printed ticket bears the time at which it was issued. The commuter has to board another bus within a “reasonable” time to reach the final destination.

For example, if a passenger boarding F-8B (Byadarahalli to Dasarahalli 8 {+t} {+h} Mile) at Nelagadarahalli can buy a direct ticket either to K.R. Market or Majestic, though the service terminates at 8 {+t} {+h} Mile. He has to get into another bus at 8 {+t} {+h} Mile towards his destination and need not pay again.

Last mile hitch

Though hundreds of Bangaloreans are keen to use BMTC services, they are forced to use private transport owing to absence of first and last mile connectivity. While there are plenty of bus services on the trunk routes, habitations located away from these routes do not have frequent bus services.

Owing to public demand and after a public interest litigation in the High Court, the corporation has agreed to address this issue, that too on an experimental basis for three months. “If the operations are found not sustainable, we may withdraw the services,” a senior BMTC official said.

The corporation requires about 100 buses to introduce feeder services on the 21 identified routes. They will ply at a frequency of about 15 minutes.

“We are unable to commence the services immediately for want of ETMs as well as buses,” the official told The Hindu.

The services

The services will be operated between Panathuru and Ashwathanagar via Kadabisanahalli, Munnekolalu; Bellanduru and Doddanekkundi via Kariyamma Agrahara, Yamalur; Singasandra and IIMB via Subhashanagar, Chikkabegur; HSR CPWD Quarters and BTM Layout via Central Silk Board; Maratahalli Bridge and Electronic City via Bellandur, Konappana Agrahara; Kodathi Gate and Varthur Kodi via Carmelram; Yelenahalli and Konanakunte Cross via Meenakshi Temple;

Kaggalipura and Kengeri TTMC via Gollarahalli; Uttarahalli and Ullalu Satellite Town via Rajarajeshwarinagar; Kengeri TTMC and Ullalu Satellite Town via Kommaghatta and Sonnenahalli; Ullalu Satellite Town and Peenya 2 {+n} {+d} Stage via Herohalli; NICE Road and Madanayakanahalli via Vaddarapalya; Jalahalli Cross and Vidyaranyapura via BEL Circle; Dasarahalli 8 {+t} {+h} Mile and Byadarahalli via Handrahalli; Abbigere and Peenya 2 {+n} {+d} Stage via Ayappa Temple; Byatarayanapura and Nagawara Junction via Rachenahalli; Byatarayanapura and Kothanur via Jakkur; Byatarayanapura and Kannur via Sampigehalli; K.R. Pura and Geddalahalli via Anandapura; K.R. Pura Railway Station and HAL Main Gate via Kaggadasapura and Avalahalli and Kothanur via Bileshivalaya.




Recent Article in KARNATAKA

‘I told my parents about rape recently’

A week after she went to the police to file an FIR against her brother-in-law for allegedly raping her when she was eight months pregnant... »