Special Correspondent

SHIMOGA: Meenakumari of the Congress and P. Jayanna of the Janata Dal (Secular) were elected president and vice-president respectively of Shimoga Taluk Panchayat here on Friday.

Meenakumari, who won from Kudli constituency, was the only candidate in the fray.

Jayanna, who won from Hanasawadi, was declared elected after Bhoja Naik withdrew his nomination.

Assistant Commissioner Habibullah was the Election Officer.

The Congress has 9 seats in the 18-member panchayat; BJP and Janata Dal (Secular) have two seats each and Samajawadi Party has one seat. There are four Independent candidates.