Special Correspondent

‘Dissatisfied’ workers of BJP, Congress, JD(S) file papers as rebel candidates

U.H. Ramappa, BJP ticket aspirant, has entered

the fray as an independent

S. Ravikumar of Congress is contesting as independent from Shimoga Rural constituency

SHIMOGA: Leaders of the Bharatiya Janata Party, Congress and Janata Dal (Secular) are feeling the pinch of rebellion in Shimoga district following dissatisfaction among party workers over the denial of ticket.

Despite hectic damage-control by the leaders, most of the dissatisfied workers of the three parties have filed nomination papers as rebel candidates.

It remains to be seen if any of the rebel candidates will relent to the pressure tactics from their party leadership and withdraw their nomination papers before May 2, the last date for doing so.

In Sorab, leaders of the local unit of the BJP expressed their opposition when the party fielded Hartalu Halappa, former MLA for Hosnagar, as its candidate, on the ground that he was an “outsider”. They argued that though Mr. Halappa hailed from Sorab he had lost touch with the people after he shifted to Hosnagar taluk.

Similarly, leaders of the local BJP unit in Sagar expressed their anguish over the re-nomination of Beluru Gopalakrishna as the party candidate for the reason that he was not “loyal” to the party after his election in 2004. They insisted that the party should nominate a person from Brahmin community as its candidate this time. When the pleas did not fructify, president of the taluk BJP unit U.H. Ramappa, who was a contender for the party’s ticket, decided to enter the fray as an independent.

The situation in the Congress is not different as far as dissension over the distribution of the party ticket is concerned. The party did not face any difficulty in nominating candidates for Sorab, Sagar Bhadravati and Tirthahalli constituencies.

The Congress is said to have decided to nominate a “dummy” candidate for Shikaripur constituency to extend “indirect support” to the former Chief Minister S. Bangarappa who is contesting from the segment against another former Chief Minister B.S. Yeddyurappa.

The party announced its nominees for Shimoga City and Shimoga Rural (reserve) constituencies a day before the candidates filed their nomination papers on Monday.

Though there was not much resistance to the nomination of Ismail Khan as the Congress candidate for Shimoga City constituency against the former Minister K.S. Eshwarappa of the BJP, there was opposition when the party decided to field the former MLA Karianna as its candidate for Shimoga Rural constituency.

The former president of Shimoga Zilla Panchayat Sharada Purya Naik is contesting as the Janata Dal (S) candidate from this constituency.

President of the District Youth Congress Committee S. Ravikumar, who was a contender for the party ticket, filed his nomination as an independent from Shimoga Rural constituency.


The Janata Dal (S) faced resistance from its youth leader Y.H. Nagaraj when his claim for the party ticket was “overlooked” and the State unit general secretary of the party M. Srikanth was fielded as the candidate for Shimoga City constituency.

Mr. Nagaraj quit the Janata Dal (S) and joined the Samajwadi Party to contest from Shimoga City constituency.