Special Correspondent

Incumbent Shashil G. Namoshi and two others are interested in the post

  • Amarnath Patil has the full backing of Revu Naik
  • The third candidate in the race is Rajkumar Telkur

    GULBARGA: Election to the post of president of the district unit of the BJP is proving to be a thorn in the flesh for party leaders in the State, with incumbent Shashil G. Namoshi and two others making efforts to get nod from the party leadership.

    The BJP leadership had started the process of holding elections to its district and taluk-level units before taking up those to the State unit. It has been avoiding conduct of elections and selecting candidates for the posts of office-bearers, based on consensus all these years.

    Although the party had been successful in conducting unanimous elections at the taluk and block levels, the party leaders had been unable to solve the problem of finding a suitable candidate for the important post of the district unit president owing to lobbying by the claimants.

    Prominent among those in the race for the president's post are Shashil G. Namoshi, MLC, who is holding the post now; the former president of the Hyderabad-Karnataka Chamber of Commerce and Industry and the party's executive committee member Amarnath Patil, Rajkumar Tellur who was defeated from Sedam Assembly Constituency in the last general election.

    The party bylaw prevents anybody from holding a second consecutive term in the same post. But Mr. Namoshi has told the leadership that he was nominated to the post six months after the term began last time. This should be taken into consideration and the party relax the conditions for election to the post of president and re-nominate him, party sources said.

    BJP sources in Bangalore told The Hindu that the party leadership had neither accepted Mr. Namoshi' plea of nor rejected it. Mr. Namoshi has also cited to the party leadership how the party has performed after he took over as president and how it has ensured the resounding victory of party candidate Manohar Maski in the recent biennial election to the legislative council from the North-east Teachers Constituency.

    The growth of the party as a cohesive unit in the district is also being highlighted as Mr. Namoshi's achievement by his supporters.

    Amarnath Patil, who has the full backing of the only BJP Minister from Hyderabad-Karnataka region Revu Naik in the Government, is leaving no stone unturned. A soft-spoken Mr. Patil is known for his organisational capacities and hails from a family in the district that dominated the political scenario for long.

    Mr. Patil was instrumental in the election of Mr. Naik from Kamalapur Assembly Constituency for three consecutive terms and in ensuring a clean sweep of all the three zilla panchayat seats in the Kamalapur Assembly constituency in the last elections.

    Legislators Chandrasekhar Patil Revoor and Sunil Valyapur have not made any plea to the party leadership. According to sources, the two have adopted a neutral stand and left the choice to the party leadership.

    Rajkumar Telkur, the third candidate in the race, is identified as a follower of the former MP Basavaraj Patil Sedam, who is shunned by the BJP now. Mr. Telkur, like Mr. Namoshi and Mr. Amarnath Patil, was camping in Bangalore to make a bid for the post of president of the party's district unit.