In a fine gesture, one of the former beneficiaries of the Dr. P.S. Shankar Medical Student Scholarship has come forward to institute a scholarship to help meritorious students coming from poor economic backgrounds from this academic year.

Siddaganga R. Hallikeri, who was awarded the Dr. P.S. Shankar Medical Student Scholarship of Rs. 1,000 every month in 2004 until she completed her MBBS, has come forward to institute a similar scholarship in memory of her mother-in-law, Anusuya Rudrappa Hallikeri, for MBBS students of poor economic backgrounds from Dharwad and Haveri districts.

Hailing from a poor agriculturist family in Kalgurti village in Chitapur taluk in Gulbarga district, Dr. Siddaganga Hallikeri appeared in competitive examinations for admission to the postgraduate course and completed her MBBS in 2009.

The Dr. P.S. Shankar Pratishtan, which has been giving two medical scholarships — one instituted in the name of eminent teacher and physician P.S. Shankar, and the other in the name of senior gynaecologist Indira Veerabhadrappa — for years, has added two more medical scholarships. One is instituted in the name of Anusuya Rudrappa Hallikeri, and the other in the name of N. Gangadharappa. Dr. Gangadharappa's two daughters, who had settled in United States of America, instituted the award in memory of their father.


Secretary of the pratishtan S.S. Hiremath said the winners of the scholarships would get Rs. 1,000 as assistance every month until they completed their MBBS course.

Mr. Hiremath invited applications from students who had joined MBBS courses this academic year with their full name, postal address, date of birth, financial status of their family, marks obtained in PUC and rank obtained in CET.

They are advised to submit their applications either through the principals of the medical colleges where they are admitted or send the applications directly to M. Sadanand, Joint Secretary, Dr. P.S. Shankar Pratishtan, “Gurappa Nilaya” Swastik Nagar, Sedam Road, Gulbarga-585105. (Ph: 9341027550) on or before October 15 this year.


While MBBS students throughout the State are eligible to apply for the Dr. P.S. Shankar Medical Scholarship, girl students hailing from economically poorer sections of society in Hyderabad Karnataka are eligible to apply for the Dr. Indira Veerabhadrappa Medical Scholarship Award. Students from Davanagere, Chitradurga and Shimoga are eligible to apply for the newly-instituted Dr. N. Gangadarappa Medical Scholarship, and students from Dharwad and Haveri are eligible to apply for the Anusuya Rudrappa Hallikeri Medical Scholarship.

  • Dr. P.S. Shankar Pratishtan offering four scholarships
  • Winners will get Rs. 1,000 a month until completion of MBBS