Environmentalist Salumarada Thimakka has been chosen for the Dr. Kota Shivarama Karanth Huttura Prashasti (Dr. Kota Shivaram Karanth Birthplace Award) for 2011.

The award instituted by the Kotathattu Gram Panchayat in Udupi district, in memory of the Jnanpith Award winner late Kota Shivaram Karanth, is being given annually since 2005.

In a release issued here, Kotathattu Gram Panchayat president Raghu Thingalaya said that Salumarada Thimakka had been chosen for the award in recognition of her contribution to conservation.

Chief Minister D.V. Sadananda Gowda will give away the award.

He will inaugurate the Karanth Kala Bhavan built at an estimated cost of Rs. 2 crore at Kotathattu on the occasion. The birth anniversary of Kota Shivaram Karanth will be celebrated for three days from October 10 to 12. The cultural programmes will be inaugurated on October 10. The earlier recipients of Dr. Shivarama Karanth Huttura Prashasti are Union Law Minister M. Veerappa Moily (2005), the former Karnataka Lokayukta N. Venkatachala (2006), educationist K.R. Hande (2007), journalist and writer Ravi Belegere (2008), Yakshagana artiste Chittani Ramachandra Hegde (2009), and filmmaker Girish Kasaravalli (2010).

Sadananda Gowda to inaugurate Karanth Kala Bhavan