Special Correspondent

BANGALORE: Karnataka MLAs will vote on June 17 to elect four Rajya Sabha members to fill the vacancies arising out of the retirement of four members.

Karnataka Chief Electoral Officer C.S. Suranjana told presspersons here on Friday that Rajya Sabha members Oscar Fernandes, B.K. Hariprasad, M. Venkaiah Naidu and M.A.M. Ramaswamy would retire on June 30.

A notification on election would be issued on May 31 signalling the beginning of electoral process. June 7 is the last day for filing nominations which would be scrutinised on June 8.

The last date for withdrawal of nominations was June 10.

The polling would be held from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. on June 17 and the counting of votes would begin at 5 p.m. on the same day.

The election process would have to be completed within June 19, Mr. Suranjana said.