Staff Correspondent

‘Restore all privileges to landholders in Kodagu’

‘Take seeks steps to overcome water shortage in Kodagu’

BJP move termed dangerous to democracy

MADIKERI: M.C. Nanaiah, MLC and former Minister, on Tuesday, urged the Chief Minister to direct the Forest Department to withdraw the forest circular of August 4, 2004, imposing restrictions on felling of trees on the ‘bane’ and other lands in Kodagu.

The H. D. Kumaraswamy Government had agreed to revoke the forest circular, but the then Minister of Forests, C. Channigappa had stated in the legislature that it could not be revoked due to court orders. Mr. Channigappa was not apprised of the issue properly, Mr. Nanaiah said.

He objected to the delay in restoring privileges to landholders in Kodagu by the district administration even after the Yeddyurappa Government revoked the conditions stated in the two revenue circulars.


The order of the then Deputy Commissioner on June 22, 1997 stating that all cultivated ‘bane’ land should be brought under assessment and occupancy rights given to the landholders, should be carried out by the present Deputy Commissioner. He must instruct the assistant commissioner, tahsildars, deputy tahsildars and revenue inspectors to restore all privileges that existed prior to the issuance of the two revenue circulars on October 31, 2006 and January 17, 2007, Mr. Nanaiah urged.

He asked the district administration, zilla panchayat and the Madikeri City Municipal Council to take steps to tide over the drinking water problem in the district. Both the Kundamestri project and the Betri project would have to be commissioned to provide drinking water to Madikeri city, he said.

Ridiculing the BJP’s move of taking MLAs from the Congress and the Janata Dal (Secular) into its fold, Mr. Nanaiah said it was dangerous for democracy.

It was a challenge for the Congress and the Janata Dal (Secular) to teach lessons to the defectors in the next elections from the same constituencies, Mr. Nanaiah said.

The president of the Kodagu Janata Dal (S) unit, A.S. Appaiah, former MLC, C.S.Arun Machaiah, State Yuva Morcha leader, Natesh Gowda, local leaders M.P. Muthappa, B.A. Ganapathi, Muneer Ahmad and Liyaqat Ali were present.