Staff Correspondent

TUMKUR: Tumkur University's third convocation was held here on Wednesday. Even as the convocation was progressing at the varsity's new campus on BH Highway, the

Tumkur District Deputy Commissioner, C. Somasekhara, brought Sri Siddaganga Math seer Shivakumara Swamiji to the dias. His arrival threw the convocation out of gear as the varsity's Vice-Chancellor S.C. Sharma, guided the swamiji to a chair that was earmarked for Minister for Higher Education Arvind Limbavali, who could not attend. Prof. Sharma only partially succeeded in restoring order.


Over a hundred students of the varsity staged a protest against being denied an opportunity to receive their certificates from Governor H.R. Bhardwaj. Mr. Bhardwaj presented certificates to 31 first rank-holders and gave away gold medals to them.

As many as 778 postgraduates and 3,801 graduates received their degrees at the convocation. Tumkur University became first in the country to issue “tamper-proof degree certificates” made of a special paper imported from Japan.

The certificates have hidden “negative of its contents” rendering it tamper-proof.

Mr. Bhardwaj conferred honorary doctorate to noted personalities Sudha Murty, T.A. Dasappa, Y.N. Gangadhara Setty, N. Santosh Hegde, K. Radhakrishnan, P. Sadananda Maiya and S.R. Ganesh.