Kavita Prabhakar and Renuka Chennigaiah of the Bharatiya Janata Party were unanimously elected president and vice-president of the Madikeri Taluk Panchayat to which elections were held on Wednesday.

The BJP had won seven seats, all women, in the 11-member body.

The Congress had won four—all men. The post of the president is reserved for general (woman) while that of the vice-president for SC (woman).


BJP candidate H.K. Dinesh, was elected president of Virajpet Taluk Panchayat.

Ammanakuttanda Dharani Katti of Congress was vice-president in the elections held at the taluk panchayat office in Ponnampet on Thursday.

Equal strength

The BJP and the Congress had won nine seats apiece in the 19-member panchayat body while the JD (S) had won one seat.

The post of the president went to SC category while that of the vice-president for general (woman) category. Assistant Commissioner, M.R. Ravi, conducted both elections.