PRCI awards 32 achievers

print   ·   T  T  
Achievers: PRCI award winners at the presentation ceremony in Bangalore on Wednesday.
Achievers: PRCI award winners at the presentation ceremony in Bangalore on Wednesday.

Staff Reporter

Chandan Mitra gets PRCI Chanakya Award for Communicator

Bangalore: The Public Relations Council of India (PRCI) conferred on Wednesday, its Second National Awards for Achievers, including the “Chanakya Awards – 2008” and the “Hall of Fame in PR”, in recognition of the contributions made by corporate firms, institutions and individuals to the PR profession and to society at large.

Governor Rameshwar Thakur presented the awards to 32 “achievers” in different categories.

The PRCI Chanakya Award for “Communicator of the year” was conferred on: Chandan Mitra, Editor and Managing Director, The Pioneer; Bangalore-based lyricist and writer Jayanth Kaikini; and K. Srinivasan, editor E-zine and CEO, Prime Foundation, Chennai.

Suhas Gopinath, CEO and President, Globus Inc at 21, received the “Young Visionary” award, while the award for “Corporate Leadership” was given to Albert Brunner, CEO of Bangalore International Airport Ltd.

The award under the “Social Leadership” category went to Venkatramana K. Neelam, Vice-Chairman, BGS Global Hospital in Bangalore; and Ashoke Kumar Dutta, Director and Member-Secretary, Institute of Social Welfare and Business Management, Kolkata.

Ramadas M. Pai, Chairman of Manipal Academy of Higher Education, received the PRCI’s “Leadership in PR Education” Award.

The “Innovative Leadership” Award was given to Prakash P. Mallya, Chairman and Managing Director of Vijaya Bank; and to Hanuman Tripathi, CEO and MD, Infrasoft Technologies Ltd, Mumbai.

The “Business Communication (Trainer)” Award was presented in three categories: International – Mathew Hibberd, Director PR Online, University of Sterling; National – N.N. Pillai, Principal, Sardar Patel College of Communications and Management, Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan, New Delhi; and Special Recognition – Uma Bhushan, professor of corporate communication, Mumbai. M. Nelliappan, Director (HR), Karnataka Power Corporation Ltd, Bangalore, received the “Business Communication (HR Excellence)” Award.

The “Life Time Achievement” award was given to Neelakantan, Director, HIIC, Mumbai; and to G.P.C. Nayar, Chairman, School of Communication and Management Studies, Kochi.

S.R. Chandrashekhar, Institute of Speech and Hearing, Bangalore; and R.A. Prasad, Chairman, Kannada Anustana Mandali, received the “NGO of the Year” Award.

The “Organisation of the Year (PR Excellence)” was awarded to Canara Bank, and the “PR Agency of the Year” was given to Concept Public Relations India Pvt Ltd, Mumbai.

The “Corporate Citizen of the Year” was Tata Chemicals Ltd., Mumbai and the “Communication School of the Year” was chosen as Manipal Institute of Communication (National), with special recognition to the Institute of Mass Communication and Research, Hubli.

Nine individuals were inducted into the “Hall of Fame in PR,” including Yogesh Joshi, L.R. Sailo, N.D. Rajpal, Rita Bhimani, Mathew Joseph, R.T. Kumar, P.R. Joshi, Jitendra Bhargava and G.C. Banik.




Recent Article in KARNATAKA

Director-General and Inspector-General of Police Lalrokhuma Pachau (right) handing over charge to Om Prakash, the new Director-General andInspector-General of Police, Karnataka, in Bengaluru on Saturday.— Photo: K. Murali Kumar

Om Prakash gets the charge

Sushanth Mahapatra questions selection of new DG&IGP »