Two candidates filed their nomination papers in the Gulbarga Lok Sabha (Reserved) Constituency in Gulbarga City on Friday taking the total number of nominations to four. The last date for the filing of nomination papers is March 26. The two candidates who filed their nominations included S.M. Sharma of the Socialist Unity Centre of India (SUCI) and independent candidate Baburao Ramla Naik. The other two candidates who had filed their nomination papers included Railway Minister Mallikarjun Kharge and Shankar L. Jadav of the Bharatiya Peoples Party. The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) candidate and former Minister B.T. Lalitha Naik would be filing her nomination papers on Saturday.

The Bahujan Samaj Party has decided to field State General Secretary of the party Mahadev B. Dinni as its candidate in Gulbarga Lok Sabha (Reserved) constituency. A meeting of the office bearers of the party in Gulbarga district took a decision in this regard on Friday. He would be filing his papers on Saturday.

Meanwhile, the Bharatiya Janata Party candidate and former Minister Revu Naik Belamagi is expected to file his nomination papers in the Gulbarga Lok Sabha (Reserved) Constituency on March 24.

Local candidate

The JD(S) candidate for Chitradurga Lok Sabha constituency Gulihatti Shekhar filed his nomination papers to the Deputy Commissioner and District Magistrate V.P. Ikkeri in the presence of JD(S) party State president A. Krishnappa, former MLA S.K. Basavarajan and CMC President Kantaraj. Since BJP and Congress parties have fielded outside candidates, the people would extend their support to JD(S) as long pending demands of the people can be fulfilled by the local candidate.

The outside candidates show their only during elections and disappear after elections, he said.

The Congress candidate for Bijapur Lok Sabha (SC reserve) constituency, Prakash Rathod, filed his nomination papers here on Friday. For the second time the 53-year-old former MLC has been contesting against the sitting BJP MP Ramesh Jigajinagi. Mr. Rathod who submitted the details before the Returning Officer, Ritvik Ranjan Pandey, has mentioned in the affidavit that he has Rs. 5.40 lakh cash in hand while the total movable property including vehicles and jewellery is worth Rs. 1.74 crore.

Two candidates each filed their nomination papers in Haveri and Belgaum district on third of filing nomination papers on Friday. In Belgaum district, independent candidate Shivagoudappa Balappa Khanagoudar filed his nomination papers for Belgaum Lok Sabha Constituency and independent candidate Shreenik Appasaheb Jangte filed his nomination papers for Chikkodi Lok Sabha Constituency. These were the first nomination papers filed in both the constituencies in Belgaum district.

Three nominations

In Haveri, two independent candidates filed three nomination papers to the election to Haveri Lok Sabha constituency on Friday. Abdul Rehman Billori of Haveri filed two sets of nomination papers one as independent candidate and another as candidate of Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) on Friday.

Another independent candidate Hanumanthappa Kabbar from Pomanakur village of Ranebennur Taluk filed his nomination papers, District Election Officer M. Manjunath Naik said. Till date six sets of nomination papers have been filed in the constituency.