Special Correspondent

BANGALORE: Chief Election Commissioner N. Gopalaswami and Election Commissioners S.Y. Quraishi and Navin Chawla will hold a meeting here on Tuesday and monitor the poll preparedness to the first phase of the Legislative Assembly elections.

Chief Electoral Officer M.N. Vidyashankar told presspersons that the full Election Commission would hold a meeting with leaders of political parties. Later, it would meet all the officials of 89 Assembly constituencies in 11 districts which go to polls on May 10.

After the final scrutiny, Mr. Vidyashankar said, there were 837 candidates, including 398 independents, in the fray in the first phase.

He has instructed the Doordarshan (DD) and All India Radio (AIR) not to telecast or air films of actors and directors who are contesting the elections.

He said even the private channels would be asked to not to telecast films of actors who remained in the contest.


As many as 249 candidates have filed their nominations papers on Monday for the second phase of polling to be held on May 16.

Samajwadi Party leader and MP S. Bangarappa filed his nomination paper from the Shikaripura constituency in Shimoga district. He will be contesting against the former Chief Minister B. S. Yeddyurappa.

The number of papers filed on Monday district-wise is: Raichur – 22, Koppal 20, Chitradurga – 13, Davangere – 49, Uttara Kannada – 14, Shimoga – 32, Udupi – 13, Chikmagalur – 23, Bellary – 10 and Dakshina Kannada – 23. A total 504 candidates filed their papers. Tuesday is the last day for fining of nomination papers for the second phase of elections.

Ninety-one candidates filed papers on Monday for the last phase of elections on May 22.