Counting of votes in the Periyapatna Assembly election will be taken up at Pushpa Convent here at 8 a.m. on Friday.

As many as 12 counting tables have been arranged at the venue as counting votes cast in 205 booths is likely to go on for about 18 rounds.

Superintendent of Police R. Dileep, Additional Deputy Commissioner Naga Naik, and tahsildar Savita visited the counting centre on Thursday.

The constituency registered 83.94 per cent polling on Tuesday.

Of the 1,62,397 voters in the constituency, 1,36,308 cast their votes.

Highest turnout

Mallinathapura booth recorded the highest voter turnout with 97.08 per cent. The lowest voter turnout was recorded at Ravandur-I booth with 64.93 per cent.

Meanwhile, Deputy Commissioner C. Shikha has imposed prohibitory orders in the constituency, except around a 100-m radius of the counting centres, from 6 a.m. on May 31 to 6 a.m. on June 1.

Victory processions, meetings, bursting firecrackers in public areas, and carrying weapons have been banned during the period.

However, the ban order does not apply to religious processions, marriages, and funerals.