Staff Reporter

Bus pass rate increased from Rs. 55 to Rs. 70 a month

BANGALORE: The Bangalore Metropolitan Transport Corporation (BMTC) will start issuing student bus passes to first and second pre-university course (PUC) students from June 19, after increasing the bus pass rate from Rs. 55 to Rs. 70 a month.

While it was Rs. 550 for 10 months last academic year, the rate has been increased to Rs. 700 this academic year. Students have to pay Rs. 50 towards processing charges, Rs. 10 towards insurance, Rs. 10 towards IT fee and Re 1. towards rolling stock fee. For two months, it is Rs. 211 (Rs. 140 + Rs. 71) and for five months it is Rs. 421 (Rs. 350 + Rs. 71).

The rate (Rs. 771) is applicable to student passes for students of pre-university and degree, including postgraduate and professional courses. It is Rs. 1,000 plus Rs. 71 for medical and technical students and Rs. 1,300 plus Rs. 71 for evening college students. These passes would be in force between July and April.

BMTC said free application forms were made available from June 1 itself at all major bus stations and added even photocopy of application forms would be accepted. Passes for degree, postgraduate, professional, technical and medical students would be issued from July 5. Students have to furnish along with the filled in application the prescribed fee along with the processing fee (Rs.71) in cash, two unattested recent stamp size photographs, current academic year fee receipts and the identity card issued by the institution.

Passes for pre-university students would at issued at special counters opened at 39 locations from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. including Sundays.

The locations are: Kempe Gowda Bus Station, Shivajinagar Bus Station, K.R. Market, Jayanagar IV Block and XI Block, J.P. Nagar, BTM Layout, Banashankari, Kumaraswamy Layout, N.R. Colony, Srinagar, MCTC (Mysore Road Bus Terminus), Electronics City, Shanthinagar, Koramangala, Domlur, Ulsoor, Neelasandra, Jeevanbimanagar, Kalyana Nagar, Kavalbyrasandra, R.T. Nagar, Vidyaranyapura, Yelahanka, Mathikere, Yeshwanthpura, Nelamangala, Nandini Layout, Malleswaram 18th Cross, Rajajinagar I Block, Basaveshwaranagar, Kamala Nagar, RPC Layout, Vijayanagar, Hesaraghatta, KHB Colony, Kengeri, Chandra Layout and K.R. Puram.