A day before polling in Udupi-Chikmagalur constituency, presidents of the district units of the Congress, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Janata Dal (Secular) were confident of the victory of their respective parties.

In fact, they ventured to give out the margin of victory of their parties. The Congress was more upbeat over its winning prospects than the other two parties.

President of the district unit of the Congress Gopal Poojary told The Hindu on Saturday that the trend was in favour of his party in the constituency, more so in the Assembly segments of Udupi, Kundapur, Karkala and Kaup. Voters were intelligent. When they compared Congress candidate K. Jayaprakash Hegde with the other two candidates, they were impressed by his personality.

“Due to various scams, the vote bank of the BJP has got divided. Some BJP voters will not vote, while another section will vote for the Congress. The caste factor will not work this time. I am 100 per cent confident that we will win by a margin of over 60,000 votes,” Mr. Poojary said. President of the district unit of the BJP K. Udaykumar Shetty said that the atmosphere in the constituency, especially in the four Assembly segments of Udupi district, favoured his party.

“Development projects taken up by our government will help our candidate V. Sunil Kumar to cruise safely to victory. We will win by a bigger margin of votes than during the 2009 Lok Sabha election,” Mr. Shetty said. (Chief Minister D.V. Sadananda Gowda had won from the Udupi-Chikmagalur parliamentary seat by a margin of 27,018 votes in 2009 Lok Sabha election).

President of the district unit of the JD(S) Deviprasad Shetty said that the people of the constituency were fed up with the Congress and the BJP, and were supporting JD(S) this time. The Congress and BJP faced a shortage of workers.

They were trying to entice voters by offering liquor and money. Women were particularly upset with the BJP because of the porn video incident and “rave party” at the St. Mary's Island. There was infighting in the Congress. “We will win by a margin of 10,000 votes. The BJP will come second and the Congress third,” Mr. Shetty said. Leaders and workers of the three parties went on a door-to-door campaigning here on Saturday.