With the last date for filing nomination papers for the elections to the urban local bodies (ULB) fast approaching, all the major political parties in Kolar district are finalising candidates. A number of people are also preparing to plunge into the poll fray as independents.

The authorities concerned are making preparations for ensuring free and fair polling with Deputy Commissioner and District Election Officer D.S. Vishwanath conducting a meeting of officers in this connection. Among the six ULBs in the district, two are city municipal councils (CMC) and four town municipal councils (TMC). While Kolar and Robertsonpet (KGF) have CMCs, the other taluk centres of Bangarpet, Mulbagal, Malur and Srinivaspur enjoy the status of TMCs. In all, there are 166 wards in these six ULBs in the district. There are 35 wards each in Kolar and Robertsonpet CMCs. While Bangarpet, Malur and Srinivaspur TMCs have 23 wards each, Mulbagal consists 27 wards.

A total of 2,45,611 voters are eligible to exercise their franchise in the elections slated for March 7. As many as 41 seats have been reserved for Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes while the Backward Castes and Minorities have a quota of 57 seats. While 24 wards are reserved for women in the general category, the number of seats for women is 62 when the quota for Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes and Backward Classes and Minorities women are taken into account.

  • Preparations on for free and fair polling

  • There are 2,45,611 eligible voters