D.V. Sadananda Gowda, former Chief Minister and senior Bharatiya Janata Party leader, said here on Wednesday that G. Parameshwara, president of the Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee (KPCC), was fanning dissent in the State unit of the Congress.

Mr. Gowda told presspersons that the dissidence in the Congress would continue till Chief Minister Siddaramaiah was dislodged from his position. Presently, there were 21 dissident MLAs in the Congress. This would touch 71 soon, he said.

“There was discontent in the Congress for a long time. It is only now that it has come into the open. It will reach its peak soon,” he said.

“Though Mr. Parameshwara did not win the Assembly elections, he was going around saying that the Congress won the elections because of his efforts,” Mr. Gowda added. Pralhad Joshi, president of State unit of the BJP, said the party would contest all the 28 Lok Sabha seats in the State and the list of candidates would be finalised in a week, he said.

To a query, Mr. Joshi said the national leaders would decide on the re-entry of the former Chief Minister B.S. Yeddyurappa into the BJP.

“Also, we are yet to take a final decision on B. Sriramalu, president of BSR Congress,” he said.

Mr. Joshi said there were many aspirants from the BJP for the Udupi-Chikmagalur Lok Sabha seat, including C.T. Ravi, Chikmagalur MLA.

‘The dissidents’ aim is to dislodge Siddaramaiah’