Staff Correspondent

  • Vasco da Gama, Hubli and Belgaum stations being upgraded
  • `B' class stations to be upgraded in the second phase

    HUBLI: The Hubli division of South Western Railway has registered an increase of 11.96 per cent in its originating earnings till the end of January 2007.

    Chairing the Ninth Divisional Railway Users Consultative Committee (DRUCC) Meeting here on Tuesday, Rakesh Vatash, Divisional Railway Manager, said that the total originating earnings of the division till January end stood at Rs. 1,965.72 crore as compared to Rs. 1,465.91 crore during the corresponding period the previous year.

    The division was likely to touch the 38 million tonne-mark in originating freight loading by the end of the financial year. Till January end, the division had carried 1.86 crore passengers, he said.

    Mr. Vatash said the earnings of the Hubli division contributed to 71 per cent of the total earnings of the South Western Railway during 2005-06 and in the current fiscal, it was likely to go up.

    He listed out the various new trains introduced and extended during the year and the initiatives taken by the division to improve passenger amenities.

    Mr. Vatash said the Hubli division had already taken up the task of upgrading five "A" class railway stations in the division namely Hubli, Belgaum, Hospet, Bellary and Vasco da Gama in the first phase.

    In the second phase, upgrading of "B" class stations Gadag, Londa, Dharwad, Bijapur, Ghataprabha, Toranagallu and Bagalkot would be taken up. The process of finalisation of contracts was under way, he said.

    Fourteen members representing various organisations participated in the DRUCC meeting, including Babulal Jain, member, National Railway Users Consultative Committee; Damodardas R. Rathi (Bagalkot); S. Brahmaiah (Bellary); D.S. Guddodaagi (Bijapur); R.B. Patil (Bijapur); Praveen Kamalani (Gadag); M.V. Megur (Dharwad), Shrikrishna D. Bal (Ratnagiri); and Madhav Manohar Dhond (Madagaon).

    They raised some of the problems faced by railway users and put forward several suggestions for improving passenger amenities.

    Senior railway officials S.S. Joshi, Ramesh Kambli, Anup Dayanand, G. Nagendra Prasad, Alim Imam and Umesh Kumar participated in the meeting. Arun Rathod, secretary, DRUCC, proposed a vote of thanks.


    On the occasion, Damodhardas Rathi of Bagalkot Chamber of Commerce and Industry was unanimously elected member for Zonal Railway Users' Consultative Committee (ZRUCC) of South Western Railway from the Hubli division.