The combined opposition romped home in the elections to the posts of president and vice-president of the Yadgir City Municipal Council (CMC).

In the elections held here on Wednesday, the Janata Dal (Secular), the BSR Congress and the KJP joined hands to defeat the Congress candidates to bag both posts with handsome margins.

While Mohammad Ishaq of the JD (S) was elected president, Rachamma Moulali Anapur of the BSR Congress was elected vice-president of the CMC. Their term would be for the next 30 months. Yadgir Sub-division Assistant Commissioner B.P. Vijaykumar conducted the elections.

While the post of the president was reserved for OBC, the vice-president’s post was reserved for General (women) category. In the house of 31 members, no party has a clear majority. The Congress is the single largest party with 11 members.

The JD(S), which has eight members, joined hands with KJP (six) and the BSR Congress (four) to bag both posts. The single BJP member voted for Congress party along with the former Minister A.B. Maalakaraddy.

Mr. Ishaq bagged 18 votes and Samson Malikeri of the Congress managed to get 13 votes. Ms. Anapur got 17 votes in the election to for the post of vice-president.

The Congress did not field its candidate and supported the JD (S) rebel candidate Sheetal Shinde who polled 14 votes. Except one KJP member, all the members of the house were present during the elections.

There were no surprises in the elections to the post of president in the Surpur Town Municipal Council, with Congress candidate Devendrappa Kallimani elected unanimously and Independent Gurubai Vaali elected as vice-president.

In the 27 member house, the Congress had a clear majority of 15 members and the Independent members supported by the former Minister Narasimha Naik had a strength of 12.