The State Election Commission appointed four “observers” for the urban local body (ULB) elections in Belgaum and for towns in the district on Thursday.

Kapil Mohan, Managing Director of Krishna Jala Bhagya Nigam, will be the observer for elections to BCC; Rajendra C.M., Deputy Director of Public Instruction, for Hukkeri, Khanapur and Sankeshwar; B.C. Satish, Hescom General Manager, for Bailhongal, Konnur, Mudalgi, Ramdurg, Gokak and Saundatti; and Nagaraj, Manager of the Karnataka State Women’s Development Corporation, for Chikkodi, Nipani, Sadalga, Kudachi, Athani and Raibag.

Meanwhile, the nomination process is still going slow. So far, only 138 aspirants have filed nominations for a total of 392 wards spread over 16 ULBs, according to official sources.

Only 71 aspirants filed nominations on Wednesday, including 8 for the BCC polls. On Thursday, 67 aspirants filed 75 nomination papers, including 38 for BCC polls. With that, 138 candidates have filed 146 nominations in the district so far.

The last date for filing nominations is February 23. Nominations will be scrutinised on February 25, and the last date for withdrawal is February 27. Polling will be held on March 7, and the votes will be counted on March 11.

Interestingly, major political parties, such as Congress, Bharatiya Janata Party and the Janata Dal (Secular) are yet to announce their members, and apart from one Congress member in the Bailhongal Town Panchayat, all others have filed their nominations as Independent candidates.