Writers Devanur Mahadeva and C.P. Krishnakumar have been selected for the prestigious Nrupatunga Award for 2010-11.

The award carries a purse of Rs. 2,50,001 each, a citation, shawl and memento. The award is instituted by the Bangalore Metropolitan Transport Corporation (BMTC) after the eighth century Kannada king-poet Nrupatunga or Sri Vijaya who wrote “Kavirajamarga.”

The BMTC has deposited Rs. 1.5 crore in the name of the Kannada Sahitya Parishat in a nationalised bank and the interest accrued on it annually is given to the award-winner as prize money.

The award will be presented to them at a felicitation function shortly, says a release from the parishat. — Staff Reporter