Staff Correspondent

  • 14 Congress and one JD(S) member move the motion
  • Ashok became president one year ago

    Madikeri: Kodagu Zilla Panchayat president H.S. Ashok is in trouble as the 14 Congress members and one Janata Dal (Secular) member in the 29-member body, in a sudden and surprise development, moved a no-confidence motion against him on Friday, according to sources from the zilla panchayat.

    There are 10 BJP members and four Janata Dal (Secular) members in the House with H.S. Ashok as the lone independent member. Mr. Ashok, who won from Hebbale in Somwarpet taluk, had joined hands with the Bharatiya Janata Party and Janata Dal (Secular), to become the president one year ago. Janata Dal (Secular) member H.B. Ganesh, who is currently the president of the zilla panchayat Standing Committee on Social Justice, has now teamed up with the Congress camp, in a bid to upset Mr. Ashok's applecart. They have reportedly expressed dissatisfaction at the "style of functioning" of Mr. Ashok. The members also alleged that all development works in the zilla panchayat had come to a standstill since Mr. Ashok took over.

    No-trust motion letters have been despatched to the Chief Executive Officer K. Sundar Naik, apart from one to Mr. Ashok himself.

    Hectic activities are on in both the camps as the Congress camp in particular, appear in an upbeat mood. Chembanda Karun Kalaiah, who had won from Kadnur in Virajpet taluk and Mr. Ganesh who had won from the Chennayanakote in Madikeri taluk, are tipped to be the president and vice-president respectively in the event of a win for the no-trust motion, it was reliably learnt.