Karwar: Haliyal Agriculture Produce marketing committee president Ashok Yellari Patil who defected to the Bharatiya Janata Party on Saturday is facing a no-confidence by other members of the APMC.

Eight members of the APMC on Wednesday submitted the no confidence notice against the president to the secretary of the APMC. The Haliyal APMC has 13 members.

Suresh Benachekar, member and former president of APMC, who moved the no-confidence motion in the meeting of the APMC on Wednesday said the incumbent president had lost the confidence of other members by his “opportunistic politics” and defection.

He said the president had no moral right to continue in the post. Other seven members who were present in the meeting too expressed same view.

After this, the meeting was adjourned.

The delegation of the Congress members then met APMC secretary Puranik and submitted a letter to him informing that Mr. Patil had lost the confidence of members to continue as president. After receiving the notice, Mr. Puranik said that 15 days of time was given to Mr. Patil to prove his majority.