Staff Correspondent

Madikeri: As many as 13 of the 16 elected representatives in the Virajpet Town Panchayat, it is learnt, have decided to move a no-confidence motion against president of the panchayat Kanti Belliappa, according to sources here on Thursday.

The members are reportedly peeved at Ms. Belliappa for not stepping down after completing 15 months in office as the president according to an agreement entered into by Janata Dal (Secular) members earlier. Ms. Belliappa should have made way for another Janata Dal (S) member, Maria Sequeira, they contended.

Madan Mandanna and Kootanda Suresh, Congress and BJP members respectively, are said to be rallying behind Ms. Belliappa. Surprisingly, the other BJP and the Congress members have joined the other Janata Dal (S) members to raise a banner of revolt against Ms. Belliappa.

A decision in this regard was taken after a meeting of the aggrieved Janata Dal (S) members in Virajpet on Wednesday night, a source in the panchayat told The Hindu. In the 16-member panchayat, there are five members belonging to the Janata Dal (S) apart from an independent who supports the party, five members of the BJP, four of the Congress and another independent member.


The other issue for contemplation of no-confidence motion was dissatisfaction among members over the recent allocation of Rs. 5 crore for taking up development works, the source said.

Ms. Belliappa has completed 17 months in office.