New transfer policy on the anvil

print   ·   T  T  

Special Correspondent

Transfers of teachers will be confined to the district in which they are working, says Horatti

  • Ordinance amending existing provisions for transfers to be issued soon
  • All transfers to be made through counselling in each district
  • Education districts to be divided into three zones
  • CET for recruitment of 4,768 primary school teachers on September 4

    GULBARGA: The State Government plans to introduce a new transfer policy to streamline the transfer of the teachers to put an end to political interference.

    Minister for Primary and Secondary Education Basavaraj Horatti told presspersons that the Government was likely to ban inter-district transfer of teachers and limit them to within the district.

    He said an ordinance amending the existing provisions of the transfers would be issued soon.

    The issue was discussed in length with Chief Minister H.D. Kumaraswamy, who had given the go-ahead to issue the ordinance governing the transfer of teachers. The Cabinet would discuss the matter in its next meeting and the ordinance would be issued, he said.

    Mr. Horatti said in future all the transfers would be made through counselling in each district and based on the seniority of the teachers seeking transfer.

    Mr. Horatti said that a teacher should have put in a minimum of two years of service in the school where he was posted, to become eligible for transfer to another school.

    He said the transfer of teachers, particularly in the primary schools, this year had not been given effect to and a majority of the teachers had not been relieved from the posts in some districts as replacements for them had not been found.

    Mr. Horatti said the Government had decided to divide education districts into three zones by placing district and taluk headquarter cities and towns in the A zone, schools within a 15-km radius of district and taluk headquarter cities and towns in B zone and schools located more than 15 km away from district and taluk headquarter cities and towns in C zone. Teachers would first be posted in the C zone and later their transfer to B zone schools would depend on the seniority norms fixed by the Government.

    The Minister said the Common Entrance Test for the recruitment of 4,768 primary school teachers, which was stayed by the Karnataka High Court, would be conducted on September 4 in 168 centres throughout the State following the vacation of the stay by the High Court. An estimated 53,800 candidates would appear from the examination.

    The Finance Department had given approval for the appointment of another 2,466 primary school teachers under the Sarva Shikshana Abhiyan and the notification would soon be issued calling for applications from the eligible candidates, he said.

    The Education Department had sought the permission of the Finance Department recruit another 4,800 teachers, he said.

    Mr. Horatti said preference would be given to fill vacancies in the new recruitment to the 61 most backward taluks identified by the High Power Committee for Redressal of the Regional Imbalances headed by the late Prof. D.M. Nanjundappa. The Finance Department had approved filling of another 5,815 teacher posts in the high schools under the Sarva Shikshana Abhiyan and vacancies caused due to retirement and posts in newly opened high schools. The process of appointment of 2,120 high school teachers in Government schools has begun, the Minister added.


  • O


    Recent Article in KARNATAKA

    What about facilities in existing schools?

    A school in Seshadripuram functions out of a single floor with 12 classrooms and 400 students. Many others run without adequate ventilati... »