Staff Correspondent

They were elected unopposed

MYSORE: Siddaramanahundi Puttanna and Hebbale Gowda of Mandakalli were elected the new president and vice-president respectively of the Mysore Taluk Panchayat.

Mr. Puttanna and Mr. Gowda were elected unopposed during Thursday's election as no other candidate filed nomination papers. Assistant Commissioner Chikkathammaiah and Tahsildar Kantharaj scrutinised their nomination papers and declared them elected.

The post of the president of the Panchayat had been reserved for Scheduled Caste while the vice-president's post had been earmarked for Backward Class 2 (A). The elections were held in the presence of Mysore Zilla Panchayat vice-president K. Marigowda and Youth Wing president of AHINDA's State unit K. Appanna.

Mr. Puttanna and Mr. Gowda succeed R. Venkataswamy and P. Shivaprakash as president and vice-president respectively.

Congress in majority

The Congress enjoys absolute majority in the 29-member Mysore Taluk Panchayat. Though the former Deputy Chief Minister Siddaramaiah-led All India Progressive Janata Dal (AIPJD) bagged 22 of the 29 seats during the elections, all AIPJD members are identifying themselves with the Congress after Mr. Siddaramaiah's entry into the party.

With three original members of the Congress in the Mysore Taluk Panchayat, the effective strength of the Congress has gone up to 25 in the 29-member House.

The other members are two Janata Dal (Secular) members, one BJP and an Independent.